Secretary of State Hillary Clinton

VMI to Present Award to Secretary of State Clinton
She Visits VMI On April 28

LEXINGTON, Va. (April 19, 2010) - Secretary of State Hillary Clinton will receive the Distinguished Diplomat Award from Virginia Military Institute when she visits the post on April 28.

“Secretary Clinton’s work throughout her public life representing the United States in numerous venues and on issues of national and international importance makes this award highly appropriate,” said Gen. J.H. Binford Peay III, superintendent of the military college. “It is an honor for us that she is taking time from her busy schedule to come to VMI to address the Corps of Cadets as well as receive this award.”

The presentation of the award to Secretary Clinton and her public remarks are scheduled to begin at approximately 7:45 p.m. on April 28 in VMI’s Cameron Hall. The event is free and open to the public.

On January 21, 2009, Hillary Rodham Clinton was sworn in as the 67th Secretary of State of the United States. Clinton joined the State Department after nearly four decades in public service as an advocate, attorney, First Lady and senator.

She was elected U.S. senator for the state of New York in 2000 and re-elected to that post in 2006, serving on the budget and armed services committees, committees on health, education, labor and pensions, environment and public works, aging and the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe. In 2007, she began her campaign for the U.S. presidency.

As the wife of former President Bill Clinton, she was First Lady of the United States from 1992 to 2000. In that role, she advocated health-care reform and issues related to children and families and traveled to more than 80 countries to champion human rights and democracy.

Established in 1996 by the board of advisers for VMI’s Department of International Studies and Political Science, the Distinguished Diplomat Award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in advancing U.S. interests abroad through diplomacy.

Clinton joins an impressive list of Distinguished Diplomat Award recipients, including former U.S. Representative Lee Hamilton; James Lilley, former ambassador to South Korea and China; Jean Kirkpatrick, former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations; James Woolsey, former director of central intelligence and head of the Central Intelligence Agency; and foreign affairs strategist Susan Eisenhower.

* * * * *

Send This Story To A Friend -- BACK TO THE WEEKLY'S HOMEPAGE!|